Sandy pro bono legal relief efforts

By Mass Defense Coordinator, November 20, 2012 6:35 pm

In the wake of Hurricane Sandy, communities throughout New York City are in crisis. Many thousands of residents are now homeless, or are living without power, water, heat or access to basic necessities. There are numerous opportunities for Guild members to volunteer their legal expertise to help residents of storm-ravaged communities. Below is an updated list of some of the opportunities we have compiled for our members.

[last update: January 10. Please email any additions to nlgnyc-massdefense@igc.org]

Trainings

  • probono.net contains a comprehensive list of online webinars and training manuals from numerous institutional providers, including NYLAG, the New York State Bar Association, the City Bar Association, Legal Services NYC, Lawyers Alliance, and the Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights Under the Law. [link to http://www.probono.net/ny/nyc/disaster_legal_services]

Clinics

The need for attorneys and legal workers to help staff legal clinics is ongoing, but the specifics of this need are frequently changing. Each of the following organizations is operating clinics in affected communities around the city; contact information is as follows

  • Legal Aid Society, operating clinics in Red Hook, Coney Island, and the Rockaways. To volunteer, contact Kim Forte at kforte@legal-aid.org
  • NYC Bar Justice Center, operating clinics in the Rockaways. To volunteer, contact Mae Fang at mfang@nycbar.org
  • 596 Acres, operating clinics in the Rockaways (in coordination with the City Bar Justice Center). To volunteer, contact Anthony Mohen at anthony@596acres.org or Paula Segal at paula@596acres.org
  • Queens Legal Services, operating clinics in the Rockaways. To volunteer, contact Jennifer Ching at jching@qls.ls-nyc.org
  • New York Legal Assistance Group, operating clinics in the Rockaways. To volunteer, contact Alison Sclater at asclater@nylag.org
  • Occupy Sandy Legal, operating clinics in the Rockaways. To volunteer, contact Jen Waller at jenwaller510@gmail.com

 

 

Comments are closed

Panorama Theme by Themocracy